AP Style Korea

The Korean Peninsula remains in a technical state of war, divided by the Demilitarized Zone into “North Korea,” officially the “Democratic People’s Republic of Korea,” and “South Korea,” officially the “Republic of Korea.” On follow-ups, the “North” and the “South” are acceptable. The abbreviations “NKorea” and “SKorea” are used only in headlines.

“DMZ” is acceptable on second reference.

Leave a Comment